St. Joseph’s Co-Cathedral, Panbazar, Guwahati-781001, Assam >> Click to Locate Us

Nature of the Parish Council

The Parish Council is a body of chosen representatives of the Parish Community intended to help the Parish Priest in administering the parish and to seek the progress and welfare of the people of God in co-operation with the pastors. It is an advisory body and its function is to give the Parish Priest constructive recommendations and useful suggestions and render necessary help in all pastoral matters pertaining to the life of the parish.

The Pastor will give serious consideration to the Council`s deliberations but it is understood that he is the final authority in confirming useful suggestions made by the Council.

Function of the Parish Council

To help the parish priest in the pastoral administration of the parish.
To advice the parish priest on any parish activity.
To establish and develop Parish Associations and co-ordinate their activities.
To develop a stronger partnership in the affairs of Parish between priests and people.
Planning and carrying out the liturgy, worship and Parish Feast.
To co-ordinate and develop Church Contribution.
To involve the whole parish in the general pastoral work and make every parishioner feels a living part of it.
To relieve the Parish Priest of temporal cares.
To spread the Christian message among the local Christian community and outside it.
To take responsibilities for regular and occasional social activities.
To supervise the relief of hardship inside and outside the parish.
Any other functions or duties as the need may rise from time to time

List of Parish Council Executive Committee Members.

Sl.No. Name Designation
1. Fr. Mark Lakra, sdb Parish Priest, Ex-Officio
2. Fr. T.M. Joseph, sdb Rector, Member
3. Fr. Saju Kariyil, sdb Member
4. Sr. Superior, CRI Member
5. Sr. Superior, Daughter of St. Paul Member
6. Sr. Superior, St. Mary`s Convent, Guwahati Member
7. Sr. Superior, Holy Child Convent, Guwahati Member
8. Sr. Superior, PDDM, Guwahati Member
9. Sr. Superior, Sisters of the Cross Member
10. Local Superior, Jesuit Member
11. Thresa Reddy Vice-President
12. Regina Bara Sereng Secretary
13. Willie Mathew Treasurer
14. Jean M. Mathew Women`s Wing
15. Basil Maraya Youth Wing
16. Puspa Kujur Member
17. Herman Tirkey Member
18. Mathilda Caido Member
19. Marcus Murmu Member
20. P. R. Kerketta Member
21. Ranjit Robert Kalita Member
22. Bernadeth Choudhury Member
23. Carlton M. Thipthorpe Member
Copyright © St. Joseph's Co-Cathedral. All right reserved